DDPs Favorite Tandas:
listening
Donato

Donato: Vocals with Horacio Lagos

A media luz (1941)
A oscuras (1941)
Soy mendigo (1939)
Alas rotas (1938)

I really love Edgardo Donato. His orchestra, like Canaro, plays in the Guardia Vieja style, with a clear compás and moderately fast tempo. But to me, his sound is a bit less polished, a bit more raw—and I like that. The orchestra hits those downbeats with a decisive thud, as opposed to Canaro’s subjectively more “bouncy” sound.
Among those who sang with Donato, Horacio Lagos is the most famous soloist. These four tangos are not exactly Donato’s “greatest hits” (those would be “El adiós,” and any duets with Lita Morales), but they are certainly very danceable. I begin with the standard and often-covered “A media luz,” and end it with my favorite, “Alas rotas,” by female lyricist Maruja Pacheco Huergo where the singer compares his forgetful lover to a wingless butterfly.

About Derrick Del Pilar

Born and raised in Chicago, I came to the tango while studying at the Universidad de Belgrano in Buenos Aires in 2006. In 2008 I earned my B.A. with majors in Creative Writing and Spanish & Portuguese from the University of Arizona, and in 2009 I earned an M.A. in Latin American Studies at the University of California, Berkeley. My specialty is the history & literature of early 20th century Argentina.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Donato: Vocals with Horacio Lagos

  1. Donato is one of those orchestras for whom I think you could easily have 10 good tandas in this blog. He had so many great hits! “Alas Rotas” is definitely one of my favourites. But I also love “Amando en Silencio” and, most of all, “Sin Sabor”. I think I could dance to those three every single night without ever tiring of them.

    Posted by terpsichoral | 30.11.2011, 8:50 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Lucky in tango, unlucky in love | Tango Addiction - 01.11.2012

  2. Pingback: All by myself | Tango Addiction - 04.09.2012

What Do You Think of This Tanda?

